Chaka Khan, Ginger Baker, Candi Station added to Love Supreme Festival

Topping the bill on Saturday 4th is ten-time Grammy-winning soul diva Chaka Khan, whose incredible 40-year career has spawned a string of global hits including ‘I Feel For You’, ‘Ain’t Nobody’, ‘Tell Me Something Good’, ‘I’m Every Woman’ and ‘You Got The Love’. Closing the festival on Sunday 5th will be one of music’s true originals Van Morrison, who celebrates his 70th birthday this summer and will be performing classic tracks from his phenomenal back catalogue.

Love Supreme, the UK’s only major greenfield jazz festival, has been hailed by The Guardian as “the British jazz world’s Glastonbury” and will also present performances from chart-topping soul and gospel singer Candi Staton, legendary Cream drummer Ginger Baker, US vocalist Dianne Reeves, who won Best Jazz Album at last week’s Grammy Awards, and revered South African trumpeter Hugh Masekela.

A string of high-profile US jazz stars have been confirmed for the three-day event including Terence Blanchard, who brings his electric band ‘E-Collective’ to the UK for the first time, a set by inimitable pairing Joshua Redman & The Bad Plus, and hard-hitting Blue Note-signed trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, whose set at the Royal Festival Hall during last year’s London Jazz Festival brought an array of new admirers. Up and coming US acts on the bill include much-hyped soul singerJarrod Lawson, rising star trumpeter Theo Croker and LA-based jazz rockers Kneebody, who performed a sold out, critically acclaimed show at Ronnie Scott’s in November.

A selection of the UK’s most celebrated artists and bands will also appear at this year’s festival including Mercury Prize nominees GoGo Penguin, Submotion Orchestra, Rag ‘N’ Bone Man, Snarky Puppy pianist Bill Laurance, Partisans, Joe Stilgoe, Get The Blessing, Christine Tobin, Hackney Colliery Big Band, Dylan Howe’s Subterraneans, Elliot Galvin, Gabby Young and Other Animals, Blue-Eyed Hawk and Shiver.

Two pioneering Australian acts have been added to the bill in the form of experimental soul group Hiatus Kaiyote and jazz-flavoured pianoless quartet The Vampires.

Several more high profile acts will be announced in due course.

The full line-up to date is:

Chaka Khan

Van Morrison

Hugh Masekela

Joshua Redman & The Bad Plus

Terence Blanchard E-Collective

Candi Staton

Dianne Reeves

Ginger Baker Jazz Confusion

Submotion Orchestra

Ambrose Akinmusire

Hiatus Kaiyote

Gogo Penguin

Rag ’N’ Bone Man

Jarrod Lawson

Bill Laurance Project

Get The Blessing

Theo Croker


Joe Stilgoe

Gabby Young & Other Animals

Hackney Colliery Band,

Dylan Howe's Subterraneans

Christine Tobin


Blue Eyed Hawk

Elliot Galvin Trio

The Vampires


De La Soul, Imelda May and more added to Love Supreme Festival

A host of high profile acts have been added to the line-up for Jazz FM’s Love Supreme Jazz Festival including alternative hip hop pioneers De La Soul, who will play songs from their illustrious 25-year career as a full 10 piece live band, Irish rockabilly star Imelda May, showcasing music from her brand new album Tribal, and acid jazz legends Incognito, who will play a hit laden set to mark their 35th anniversary.

With a world-class programme that already boasts the likes of multi-million-selling Grammy and Golden Globe winner Jamie Cullum, double Brit Award nominee Laura Mvula, a special 25th anniversary show from legendary R&B outfit Soul II Soul, and man of the moment, the Grammy-winning Gregory Porter, the acclaimed 3-day event is standing out from the crowd with a uniquely varied selection of music from an incredible array of international stars.

Other additions to the bill include a string of highly regarded vocalists including the prodigious Nikki Yanofsky, who headlined the Montreal Jazz Festival when she was just 12 years old; James Tormé, Jazz FM presenter and son of legendary jazz singer Mel Tormé; and the MOBO-nominated Natalie Williams, who will be performing with both her jazz quartet and wildly popular Soul Family band. The festival will also present a broad selection of cutting edge contemporary jazz and joining the bill this month are jazz-punk sextet Melt Yourself Down, Blue Note trumpeter Takuya Kuroda, forward-thinking piano trio Phronesis, the meditative rising trumpet star Matthew Halsall, revered New York drummer Jaimeo Brown and future stars of the UK scene Reuben James Trio, Slowly Rolling Camera and Mammal Hands.

With more artists to be announced, the line-up as it stands is:

Saturday 5th July:

Jamie Cullum
Laura Mvula
Dave Holland’s Prism
Snarky Puppy
Melt Yourself Down
Derrick Hodge
Nikki Yanofsky
Matthew Halsall
Natalie Williams’ Soul Family
Reuben James Trio
The Computers
Natalie Williams (Solo)
Ollie Howell Quintet
Jazz Fm Competition Winner

Sunday 6th July:

De La Soul (with full live band)
Imelda May
Gregory Porter
Soul II Soul
Christian McBride Trio
Courtney Pine
Curtis Stigers
Jose James
Alice Russell
Hidden Orchestra
Polar Bear
Jaimeo Brown
James Torme
Cecilia Stalin
Takuya Kuroda
Laura Jurd
Chloe Charles
Slowly Rolling Camera
Mammal Hands
Jazz Rooms Soundsystem