De La Soul, Imelda May and more added to Love Supreme Festival

A host of high profile acts have been added to the line-up for Jazz FM’s Love Supreme Jazz Festival including alternative hip hop pioneers De La Soul, who will play songs from their illustrious 25-year career as a full 10 piece live band, Irish rockabilly star Imelda May, showcasing music from her brand new album Tribal, and acid jazz legends Incognito, who will play a hit laden set to mark their 35th anniversary.

With a world-class programme that already boasts the likes of multi-million-selling Grammy and Golden Globe winner Jamie Cullum, double Brit Award nominee Laura Mvula, a special 25th anniversary show from legendary R&B outfit Soul II Soul, and man of the moment, the Grammy-winning Gregory Porter, the acclaimed 3-day event is standing out from the crowd with a uniquely varied selection of music from an incredible array of international stars.

Other additions to the bill include a string of highly regarded vocalists including the prodigious Nikki Yanofsky, who headlined the Montreal Jazz Festival when she was just 12 years old; James Tormé, Jazz FM presenter and son of legendary jazz singer Mel Tormé; and the MOBO-nominated Natalie Williams, who will be performing with both her jazz quartet and wildly popular Soul Family band. The festival will also present a broad selection of cutting edge contemporary jazz and joining the bill this month are jazz-punk sextet Melt Yourself Down, Blue Note trumpeter Takuya Kuroda, forward-thinking piano trio Phronesis, the meditative rising trumpet star Matthew Halsall, revered New York drummer Jaimeo Brown and future stars of the UK scene Reuben James Trio, Slowly Rolling Camera and Mammal Hands.

With more artists to be announced, the line-up as it stands is:

Saturday 5th July:

Jamie Cullum
Laura Mvula
Dave Holland’s Prism
Snarky Puppy
Melt Yourself Down
Derrick Hodge
Nikki Yanofsky
Matthew Halsall
Natalie Williams’ Soul Family
Reuben James Trio
The Computers
Natalie Williams (Solo)
Ollie Howell Quintet
Jazz Fm Competition Winner

Sunday 6th July:

De La Soul (with full live band)
Imelda May
Gregory Porter
Soul II Soul
Christian McBride Trio
Courtney Pine
Curtis Stigers
Jose James
Alice Russell
Hidden Orchestra
Polar Bear
Jaimeo Brown
James Torme
Cecilia Stalin
Takuya Kuroda
Laura Jurd
Chloe Charles
Slowly Rolling Camera
Mammal Hands
Jazz Rooms Soundsystem

Leave a Comment