PJ Harvey, Sigur Ros and more announced for NOS Primavera Festival

NOS Primavera Sound has released the full line-up for its fifth edition. After announcing the presence of French duo Air, authors of remarkable work such as “Moon Safari” or the original soundtrack to “The Virgin Suicides”, the festival reveals the names that will be at the Parque da Cidade in Porto, between June 9th and 11th.

Among the confirmed acts are such stand-outs as rock icon PJ Harvey and the dreamy experimental rock of Icelandic band Sigur Rós, besides Brian Wilson in a special performance of “Pet Sounds”, the chief pop oeuvre of the 20th century.

Added to these, are names which are key to understanding the most current music: the dream pop of Americans Beach House, the return to pop by Animal Collective, the post rock of Explosions In The Sky, the showcase of the latest album by German supergroup Moderat, Deerhunter led by Bradford Cox, Ty Segall and the Muggers’ rock’n’roll steamroller or Julia Holter, author of one of 2015’s most impressive albums.

As usual, the festival also saves some room for acts born in the nineties. The return to the stage of mythical hardcore band Drive Like Jehu, the always fit Dinosaur Jr., the instrumental and untethered rock of Tortoise, Mudhoney’s electrical discharge, the noise metal of the legendary Unsane, out rock pioneers Loop or the live “life insurance” policy that is Shellac are among the highlights of NOS Primavera Sound 2016.

Some names which are very much current will also be at the Parque da Cidade. The hip hop of one of the MCs of the moment, Freddie Gibbs, Savages’ battle rock, the synthpop of the mighty Chairlift, the ethylic odes of Titus Andronicus, Dan Bejar on board Destroyer to showcase the recent “Poison Season”, the emotive ball of Kiasmos, the Portuguese cult band Linda Martini, Parquet Courts’ post-punk aromas, Holly Herndon’s experimentalism, or the jazz tinged electronica of Floating Points are some of the hippest names in this edition.

The long list doesn’t end here and continues to showcase names filled with substance and quality: pop seen form a different perspective by Wild Nothing, Car Seat Headrest, Roosevelt, Autolux, Empress Of or Manel, the guitars of Protomartyr, Royal Headache, Neil Michael Hagerty & the Howling Hex or Algiers, djs Fort Romeau and The Black Madonna, the experimental electropop of Sensible Soccers, and electronic alter-ego of João Vieira with the project White Haus, the refined simplicity of Cass McCombs, BEAK>’s kraut rock, the psychedelia of Bardo Pond or the obscure sounds of Mueran Humanos, round off a wide ranging and diverse line-up.


Air . Algiers . Animal Collective . Autolux . Bardo Pond . Battles . Beach House . BEAK> . The Black Madonna . Brian Wilson performing Pet Sounds . Car Seat Headrest . Cass McCombs . Chairlift . Deerhunter . Destroyer . Dinosaur Jr. . Drive Like Jehu . Empress Of . Explosions In The Sky . Floating Points (live) . Fort Romeau . Freddie Gibbs . Holly Herndon . Julia Holter . Kiasmos . Linda Martini . Loop . Manel . Moderat . Mudhoney . Mueran Humanos . Neil Michael Hagerty & the Howling Hex . Parquet Courts . PJ Harvey . Protomartyr . Roosevelt . Royal Headache . Savages . Sensible Soccers . Shellac . Sigur Rós . Titus Andronicus . Tortoise . Ty Segall and The Muggers . U.S. Girls . Unsane . White Haus . Wild Nothing

Leave a Comment