Massive Attack, Rudimental and more added to Longitude lineup

Electro pioneers Massive Attack lead the lineup additions for this years Longitude Festival.  The multi award winning duo consisting of Robert “3D” Del Naja and Grant “Daddy G” Marshall have released 5 studio albums selling over 11 million copies worldwide. Their albums Blue Lines (1991) and Mezzanine (1998) feature in Rolling Stones list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. 1991’s Unfinished Symphony was voted in the Top 10 of The Guardians Greatest songs of All Time poll.

Joining Massive Attack are Rudimental, The 1975, Banks, Parquet Courts, Krystal Klear, O Emperor, Eagulls, Ry X, Say Lou Lou, Son Lux, Josef Salvat and Samaris.

Chart topping dubstep group Rudimental recently picked up Best British Single for ‘Waiting All Night’ at the Brits 2014 while Manchester indie rock band The 1975 who’s breakthrough hit Chocolate has amassed over 11 million You Tube views helping their self titled debut album achieve Gold status. 

Banks is one of the most hotly tipped acts of the year, coming third in the BBC Sound of 2014 poll and was a MTV Brand New nominee 2014.Parquet Courts, one of the finest punk rock bands to emerge from New York in years, were named #3 in Time Out’s round up of best albums for their debut record Light up Gold on its release.

Making a welcome return is last years Red Bull Music Academy stage headliner Krystal Klear, bringing the best in everything from Boogie & New Jack to Instru Hip-Hop and House to Marlay Park this summer. O Emperor, fellow Irish act and recent nominees for the Meteor Choice Music Prize for their second album Vitreous join new additions to the festival Leeds punk band Eagulls, who recently performed on Letterman and released their critically acclaimed self titled debut LP,Ry X the falsetto folk singer who’s hit song Berlin widely featured on the Sony Bravia TV commercial, Dream pop duo comprising of sisters Miranda and Elektra Kilbey Say Lou Lou, who made it onto the BBC Sound of 2014 longlist, experimental producer and composer Son Lux,Australian singer-songwriter Josef Salvat and Icelandic electro groupSamaris.

The announcement of new Longitude acts coincides with the release of day tickets for the festival along with main stage breakdown of acts across the weekend. Ben Howard will headline Friday night,Disclosure take top billing on Saturday while Massive Attack bring the weekend to a close on Sunday night.

Friday: Ben Howard, Bastille, Bombay Bicycle Club, Icona Pop and George Ezra

SaturdayDisclosure, Haim, Chvrches, The 1975, Sam Smith and Hozier

Sunday:  Massive Attack, James Vincent McMorrow, Rudimental, First Aid Kit and Banks

Leave a Comment