///The Avett Brothers, Destroyer and more for Green Man Festival

The Avett Brothers, Destroyer and more for Green Man Festival

There is no harmony like brotherly harmony, and few do it better than North Carolina’s incredible Avett Brothers.

avett brothersDiscovered by the legendary Rick Rubin, siblings Scott and Seth Avett will keep the Green Man family vibe going in the beautiful Brecon Beacons this August.

Major label debut I and Love and You, produced by Rubin, is packed with raw emotion and naked honesty and finds the brothers poised to breakthrough to the wider audience their songwriting deserves.

The unbridled energy of their self-styled “punkgrass” live show is a must-see – expect raw emotion, some stomping singalongs and the odd snapped banjo string!

Destroyer – aka multi-talented master craftsman and arranger extraordinaire Dan Bejar – headlines the Far Out Tent at Green Man on Saturday.

The Canadian’s ninth album Kaputt is an opulent, lyrical, game-changing masterpiece – elaborate, funny and funky early ‘80s pop songs brought to life by an eight-piece touring band. With a flurry of five star reviews and comparisons to Roxy Music and David Bowie, this astonishing record has rightly been hailed as “a retro dance soundtrack for disco fans”.

You can download the totally ace taster Chinatown for free by clicking here: http://www.scjag.com/mp3/do/chinatown.mp3

Josh T. Pearson’s acclaimed solo debut Last Of The Country Gentlemen is quite possibly the bravest album you’ll hear in 2011.

A collection of seven songs drawn from the lessons of what he describes as “a rough year”, this is personal, powerful, painful, music to melt the heart of the most hardened cynic. If you managed to catch Josh’s spellbinding appearance on Later With Jools Holland last month, you will be licking your lips in anticipation…

Alessi’s Ark is the stage name of West Londoner Alessi Laurent-Marke, whose 2009 debut was produced by Bright Eyes member Mike Mogis in Conor Oberst’s own studio. Now the prodigious 20-year-old is back with the follow-up Time Travel, released last week on the ever-excellent Bella Union.

Matthew And The Atlas have played in some of the UK’s most iconic venues thanks to a support slot last year with Mumford and Sons – not least the Green Man Boat party! Led by gravel-voiced singer Matt Hegarty, the band are now emerging in their own right as one of the brightest stars on the UK folk scene.

Cowbois Rhos Botwnnog – brothers Iwan, Aled and Dafydd Hughes – continue the family theme. Formed in 2006 between the predominantly Welsh-speaking villages of Botwnnog and Llaniestyn in the Lynn Peninsula, the band’s beautiful, rootsy, country-tinged sound is quickly attracting an ever-growing following.

You can discover Cowbois Rhos Botwnnog and scores of other amazing, upcoming new acts lovingly hand-picked by Green Man himself in the Brecon Beacons from August 19th to 21st.

And if you’re lucky, we might even have some more exciting news on the welcome return of one of Green Man’s very good friends up our sleeves for a rainy day…

Don’t miss out on tickets to Green Man 2011.

Line-up so far 

2:54 – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/254/3955
Alessi’s Ark
Avett Brothers
Bellowhead – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/bellowhead/3914
Benjamin Francis Leftwich – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/benjamin-francis-leftwich/4078
Bleeding Heart Narrative – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/bleeding-heart-narrative/3915
Chailo Sim – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/chailo-sim/4084
Cowbois Rhos Botwnnog
Destroyer
Dry The River – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/dry-river/3917
Ellen and the Escapades – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/ellen-and-escapades/3918
Emily Barker & The Red Clay Halo – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/emily-barker-red-clay-halo/3919
Explosions In The Sky -http://http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/explosions-sky/3989
Fleet Foxes – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/fleet-foxes/3921
Gruff Rhys – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/gruff-rhys/4049
Holy Fuck – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/holy-fuck/3957
Iron & Wine – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/iron-and-wine/4045
James Blake – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/james-blake/4051
James Vincent McMorrow – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/james-vincent-mcmorrow/4069
James Yorkston – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/james-yorkston/4054
John Mouse – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/john-mouse/4082
Josh T. Pearson
Mancub Babywoman – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/mancub-babywoman/3920
Marcus Foster – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/marcus-foster/4080
Matthew And The Atlas
Moddi – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/moddi/4076
Neverest Songs – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/neverest-songs/4063
No Thee No Ess – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/no-thee-no-ess/4073
Noah And The Whale – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/noah-and-whale/4047
Our Broken Garden – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/our-broken-garden/3922
Polar Bear – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/polar-bear/3923
Robyn Hitchcock – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/robyn-hitchcock/3925
Sic Alps – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/sic-alps/3926
The Antlers – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/antlers/4053
The Bleedin’ Noses – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/bleedin-noses/4056
The Burns Unit – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/burns-unit/3927
The Cave Singers – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/cave-singers/4064
The Gentle Good – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/gentle-good/3928
The Low Anthem – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/low-anthem/4001
The Ramshackle Union Band – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/ramshackle-union-band/3924
The Sleeping Years – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/sleeping-years/4060
The Travelling Band – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/travelling-band/3929
Thomas Dybdahl – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/thomas-dybdahl/4067
Treefight For Sunlight – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/treefight-sunlight/4075
Tweak Bird – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/tweak-bird/3930

Villagers – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/villagers/3931

Wild Nothing – http://www.greenman.net/artist2011/wild-nothing/3933Line-up so far:
 

About the Author:

Leave A Comment